100 facts about the 2015 Parliament
Egyptian Woman cast her ballot in Parliament election in Egypt

CAIRO: Parlmany, Youm7’s specialized reporting site on the 2015 Parliament, has prepared a run-down of statistics about the newly elected parliament. Of the 596 representatives, 555 are elected, with the remainder being appointed by the President. Some 87 are women, of whom 73 were elected.

Some 43% of the representatives are less than 35 years old, and 28 of them hold doctorate degrees.

The Free Egyptians party is the most represented partisan, with 65 deputies.

Below is a run-down of key statistics for the governing body that will soon be in session, including voter turnout, age range, and those who received the most votes.



  • Turnout in the first round for the first stage reached 26.67%.
  • In the run-off the turnout rate reached 21.71%
  • Turnout in the first round for the second phase 29.83%.
  • Turnout in the runoff for the second phase of 22.3%.
  • Average participation in all phases reached 28.3%.


Total number of winners in the polls

  • 555 total winners, with 120 winners via the list system, and 435 winners in individual elections.
  • Of the 482 winners, 87% were men and 13% were women.


Parties represented in Parliament

Representatives of 19 parties have been elected to the parliament, with 237 seats (43%.)

318 independents received the remaining 57% seats.


Breakdown of winning parties

  1. Free Egyptians Party with 65 seats.
  2. Nation’s Future “Mosta’bal Watan” Party with 50 seats.
  3. New Wafd Party with 33 seats.
  4. Protectors of the Homeland with 17 seats.
  5. Republican People’s with 13 seats.
  6. Congress “Al-Mo’tamar” Party with 12 seats.
  7. Nour Party with 11 seats.
  8. Conservatives with 6 seats.
  9. Democratic Peace Party with 5 seats
  10. Egyptian National Movement parties, and Egyptian Democratic and Modern Egypt with 4 seats each.
  11. Reform, Development and Freedom of my Country and Egypt with 3 seats for each party
  12. Assembly and Democratic Parties and the Egyptian Edifice Free and Guardians of the Revolution with one seat each.


MP’s demographics

  • 54 deputies between the ages of 25 to 35.
  • 122 deputies between the ages of 36 to 45.
  • 192 deputies between the ages of 46 to 55.
  • 99 deputies between the ages of 56 to 60.
  • 88 deputies older than 60.
  • The upper age bracket in the parliament from the age of 46 to 55 years and 192 deputy.
  • The oldest member of parliament is Dr. Amna Nasir, 75.


Demographic breakdown of MPs elected from individual system

  • 34 MPs between the ages of 25 to 35.
  • 107 MPs between the ages of 36 to 45.
  • 150 MPs between the ages of 46 to 55.
  • 76 MPs between the ages of 56 to 60.
  • 68 MPs older than 60.


Demographic breakdown of MPs elected through lists

  • 20 MPs between the ages of 25 to 35 years.
  • 15 MPs between the ages of 36 to 45 years.
  • 42 MPs between the ages of 46 to 55 years.
  • 23 MPs between the ages of 56 to 60 years.
  • 20 MPs older than 60 years.


Qualifications for MPs

  • 28 MPs hold a doctorate degree.
  • 10 MPs hold a master’s degree.
  • 405 MPs hold graduate degree qualifications.
  • 82 MPs hold average qualifications.
  • 30 MPs hold basic education.


Women in Parliament

Women in Parliament make up 13% of the total. Of 73, 17 women were elected through the individual system, with the remaining 56 elected through lists.


Women’s candidacies:


  • A total of 275 female candidates as independents
  • 17, or 6%, of the individual female candidates were successful.
  • OF those who ran in lists, 47% had successful campaigns.


Copts in parliament

36 Copts were elections; 12 of whom through the individual system, and 24 via electoral lists.


Egyptians abroad

8 deputies representing Egyptians abroad were elected


Oldest and youngest members

  • Dr. Amna Naseer is the oldest MP at 76 years old
  • Hassan Hassanein is the youngest member at 25 years old


Highest and lowest in provinces


  • South Sinai governorate had the highest turnout, with 41.6% casting their ballots.
  • Suez had the lowest turnout, with 18.1% showing up at the polls.


Highest and lowest in the citty


  • Mashtool Market circle in the eastern province took first place in terms of rates of participation, after 44.83% of the total number of registered voters cast their ballots.
  • Prairie circle Cairo recorded vote of at least 9.61%.


3 MPs with most votes

  • Tawfiq Okasha, MP for Talkha circle and Nabarouh Dakahlia Governorate, received 94,968 votes.
  • MP Mahmoud Mohi El-Din Hassan for Ashmun circle Menoufia received 85,116 votes.
  • MP Mortada Mansour running in Dakahlia received 82,557 votes.


3 MPs who received the lowest amount while still winning

  • Attorney Mamdouh Emara and got 3,226 votes.
  • MP Hassan Ghraib in southern Sinai who received 5,208 votes.
  • MP Noor Amin Fatih for Ras Sidr circle received 5,387 votes.


States without expat voting

  • Panama, Serbia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, Angola, Mozambique and Mauritius.


Top vote-receiving female candidates


  • Iman Salem received 62,476 votes.
  • Abeer Taqbih with 55 847.
  • Noselh Abu Amr with 52,037.


Winning women with fewest votes

Mona Jaballah with 13,759 votes.

Rania Sadat with 13,895 votes.

Thuraya-Sheikh with 22,505 votes.


5 most important businessmen in parliament


  • Farag Amer from the Prime Smouha Club
  • Mohamed Zaki, head of the Swedish Federation of Industries
  • Sahr Talat Mustafa, business woman and partner TMG
  • Mohammed Sallab owner factories Ceramics Sallab
  • Kamal Qirtam, from Petroleum industry


Top 5 Copts in Parliament

  • Samir Ghattas from Vice Nasr City
  • Emad Gad, leading Egyptian Liberal Party
  • Suzy Nashid from Alexandria
  • Margaret Lazarus from Cairo
  • John Talaat , from Shubra


Top 5 media figures in parliament

Mustafa Bakri, editor of “The Week”

Osama Hekal and former Minister of Information

Dr. Tawfiq Okasha, head of channel Lafraain

Abdul Rahim, the chairman of News Portal

Moataz El Shazly, chairman of the newspaper “The Masses”


Top 5 deputies belonging to political Islam

  • Ahmed Khalil Khairallah
  • Mohammed Salah Khalifa
  • Ahmed Sharif
  • Mahmoud prestige
  • Ismail Mohammed Jad Allah.


The most important former ministers in parliament

  • Mohamed Orabi, former Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Osama Hekal, Former Minister of Information
  • Taher Abu Zeid, former Sports Minister
  • Ali Almeselhi, former Minister of Solidarity


  • 4 constituencies where elections did not add the numbers to the results of the conducted


Timeline of Egypt’s Electoral Process

  • Aug. 31: Voters informed about dates
  • Oct. 1 : Final candidates names for the first phase after the inclusion of amendments and waiver
  • Oct. 17: First phase of expat voting starts
  • Oct. 18: Voting starts in the country for the first phase.
  • Oct. 20: results announced for first phase and complaints made to HEC and adjudicated
  • Oct. 26 : Run-off in the first phase abroad
  • Oct. 27: Run-off for the first phase
  • Oct. 29: Results of the run-off for the first phase announced and complaints filed to HEC and adjudicated
  • Nov. 3: Announcement of the final statements for the second phase and the start of advertising
  • Nov. 21- Phase 2 begins abroad
  • Nov. 22- Phase 2 begins in Egypt.
  • Nov. 24: Announcement the results of the second stage and complaints filed to HEC and adjudicated
  • Nov. 30: Election run-off in the second phase abroad kicks off
  • Dec. 1: Election run-off kicks off domestically for the second stage
  • Dec. 3: Election runoffs results announced, with complaints referred to the Higher Committee
  • Dec. 20 – Delivery of certificates for elected members


Recommend to friends

Leave a comment