Egypt’s new governors reshuffle witnesses 11 new faces
President Sisi with eleven new regional governors - Photo courtesy of presidential office

CAIRO: Eleven new regional governors took the constitutional oath Saturday before Egypt’s President Abdel Fatah al Sisi and Prime Minister Sherif Ismail, Presidential spokesperson Alaa Youssef said in a statement.

The new governors have been appointed for the 11 governorates; namely Sharqia, Minya, Giza, Kafr al Sheikh, Suez, Gharbia, Beni Suef, Alexandria, Aswan, Port Said and Qalyubia.

Five deputy ministers have also sworn in by Sisi Saturday. The new deputy ministers are for ministers of higher education, education, health and population, housing and communication.

The remaining 15 governors, including the governors of Cairo, North Sinai, and South Sinai will stay in their positions.

Saturday’s governors’ reshuffle is the third since Sisi came to office in June 2014.

In the last governor reshuffle, which took place in February, 17 new governors were sworn in by President Abdel-Fatah al-Sisi, most of whom were either academics or managers of industrial companies.

Egypt is divided into 27 governorates; governors are appointed by the President and serve at his discretion.

Recommend to friends

Leave a comment