EU states agree to make it easier to limit visa-free travel
Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu, left, and EU Affairs Minister Volkan Bozkir speak during a news conference in Ankara, Turkey, Wednesday, May 4, 2016. Turkey has hailed the European Union executive Commission's recommendation to grant Turkish citizens the right to travel to Europe without visas as "a new page" in relations between Turkey and the EU. Cavusoglu said Wednesday's announcement brings Turkish citizens closer than ever to visa-free travel to Europe.(AP Photo/Burhan Ozbilici)

BRUSSELS: European Union nations have agreed to make it easier to suspend its visa waiver program with some countries, just as Turkey is trying to secure visa-free travel for its citizens.

EU interior and migration ministers sealed an agreement Friday on the emergency brake system during talks in Brussels. The so-called “suspension mechanism” would come into play to ensure security and if a country fails to respect its agreements. It would apply to Georgia, Ukraine, Kosovo and Turkey.

French Interior Minister Bernard Cazeneuve said that “we can’t allow visa liberalization to happen without any precautions, without a managed calendar or in a rush as some want to impose on us. So we have taken an extremely firm position.”

Recommend to friends

Leave a comment