Memphis museum names Freedom Award recipients
By: AP

MEMPHIS, United States: Mary Robinson, the first woman to be president of Ireland, is among three recipients of the National Civil Rights Museum’s Freedom Awards.

The museum, located in Memphis, hands out the awards every year to honor people who champion humanitarian, education and civil rights causes. Recipients will be honored at a ceremony Nov. 6.

Robinson is the International Freedom Award honoree. She served as Ireland’s president from 1990 to 1997 and United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights from 1997 to 2002.

Geoffrey Canada is receiving the National Freedom Award. Canada is president of the Harlem Children’s Zone, an organization that provides education and support to children and their families.

Earl Graves, the Lifetime Achievement Award honoree, is founder of Black Enterprise magazine and an activist for black consumers and businesses.

Recommend to friends

Leave a comment